The stupidest thing I ever saw a developer do

So this story comes up quite a lot – this is the stupidest thing I ever saw a developer do. I need to paraphrase a little because it’s been many years, but in a nutshell we’d had a new guy start as a junior developer and he was working through bug tickets, with instruction to run solutions past another developer prior to checking them in. He was dealing with an issue where the backtrace read something like this:

undefined method `capitalize' for nil:NilClass (NoMethodError)

Which is a relatively simple exception to explain and is probably, in my experience, the most common backtrace a developer will ever see. It usually means that someone has not coded defensively, or that something has been coupled to something else in a non-obvious way and someone didn’t realise. You can easily achieve the error yourself:

my_hash = {}
my_hash[:key].capitalize

Anyway, after working on it for a few hours our developer came to me with his solution. Here is what he had done:

class NilClass
  def method_missing(method_sym, *arguments, &block)
    return
  end
end

For non-rubyists, here is a translation of what that bit of code does:

Let’s change the meaning of nothing, so that whenever someone tries to do something to nothing, we just do nothing.

I am not entirely proud of my reaction at the time, which was basically to laugh at the guy, tell pretty much everyone in the office about what he’d done, and then continue to tell the story for many years to come. To his credit, this “fix” had actually, to the untrained eye, fixed the problem because the software was now behaving as expected.

Evidently, the developer in question had, upon seeing the backtrace, Googled it. He had found a stackoverflow entry where someone else was having the same issue and some helpful user had submitted the NilClass monkey patch as a joke answer to the question. Other helpful users had up-voted this answer, which lead to our guy not identifying it as a joke.

I tried in vain to track down a link to this stackoverflow entry (it was many years ago) but to no avail.

Like I said, I tell this story quite a lot – the most recent time was earlier on today in fact, and it got me thinking. I worked through  the steps that this particular developer had taken:

  • He googled the error
  • He found a “solution”
  • Without understanding it, he stuck it in the codebase

And it dawned upon me that maybe I had been a little harsh on the guy, because that little trio of bullet points right there is one I have followed a whole bunch of times myself, especially when I was first getting started as a dev.

I never had a mentor, and regularly found myself being completely out of my depth and being asked to do things which I had no idea how to do. It was scary, it was stressful, and whilst being pushed in the deep end does make you very good very quickly (provided you swim) it can lead to you becoming overly reliant on the internet for solutions. You become adept at “skimming over documentation”. It’s bad practice.

If this story feels kind of familiar to you, then know that you are not alone – almost every programmer I have ever worked with has at some point engaged in “stackoverflow driven development” . Nowadays I always try to be aware of what I do not know – Taking time to properly understand what a solution means is not wasted time.

And if the guy who I laughed at ever reads this, please consider this an apology.

Leave a Reply

